Product manager certification: what 33,674 US job ads name
No, a product manager certification is not required: you can apply without a credential (a certificate or exam result) unless the ad asks. In October 2026, pspo (Scrum.org's product-owner exams; Scrum is a team method with short work cycles) appeared in 29 of the 33,674 US product-manager ads on Adzuna, a job-ad search site, and roadmap in 50% of the ads for US product managers.
A product manager decides what a product should do, for whom and in what order, and a roadmap is the plan that sets out what the product will get and when. Jira, a tool that software teams use to track tasks, appeared in 5.3% of the ads with a US product-manager title that month. We count those two skill words and one certification phrase for this job, so this page gives no job-ad figure for any other credential.
Your first step, even with no target employer yet: open ten product-manager listings on a job board such as Indeed or LinkedIn, or on employers' own career pages, and write down every credential and tool each one names. Then write a one-page product requirements document (a short write-up of what to build, for whom and why) for an app you use. Turn it into a roadmap and track the work on a Jira board or any task tracker. If several of your ten listings name the same credential, price it first: use the table in the best-certification section, or the vendor's own page (linked under Sources) if it is not there. If no listing names a credential, skip credentials and keep building the documents.
- Picking one: the best certification by situation
- Reading the data: what US, UK and Indian ads name
- Budgeting: what each one costs
- Starting from zero: entry-level options
What do product manager job ads ask for?
Instant answer from October 2026 job ads. No email needed.
Certificates named
Skills asked for
Source: Adzuna job ads, October 2026.
Get your full report
Two optional questions shape your first step. No email needed.
Show the numbers
| Item | Ads | Share of ads |
|---|---|---|
| Roadmap | 16,813 | 50% |
| Jira | 1,783 | 5.3% |
| PSPO | 29 | 29 of 33,674 |
On this page
- Which product manager certifications do job ads name?
- Do product managers need certifications?
- Which is the best certification for a product manager?
- What does a product manager certification cost?
- Entry level product manager certification: where should you start?
- Is a product manager certification worth it?
- What do Reddit posters ask about the best certifications for product managers?
- What we did not check
- Related roles and where to go next
- Sources
Which product manager certifications do job ads name?
The one certification phrase we count in product-manager ads is pspo, and its counts sit next to two skill words in the table. We asked Adzuna how many ads in the US, the UK and India had the words product manager in the job title (in any order or position) in October 2026. Then we counted the ads that contain pspo (matched as an exact phrase) and the words roadmap and jira anywhere in the text Adzuna holds for the ad.
| Phrase searched | US product-manager ads | UK product-manager ads | Indian product-manager ads |
|---|---|---|---|
pspo (Scrum.org product-owner exams) |
29 of 33,674 | 4 of 1,765 | 8 of 2,577 |
roadmap (skill word) |
50% | 54% | 55% |
jira (task-tracking tool) |
5.3% | 4.8% | 6.9% |
Product manager certifications and skills in job ads. Source: Adzuna job-ad data, ads with product manager in the job title, collected in October 2026: 33,674 in the US, 1,765 in the UK and 2,577 in India. Analysis: CertWorthIt. How we count.
The phrase pspo is the code in the names of Scrum.org's product-owner exams; PSPO I is the one we priced, and we did not check which other strings contain it. A product owner is the Scrum role that decides the order of a team's work; Scrum is a way of running software work in short cycles called sprints. Our count covers only ads with both words product manager in the title, such as senior product manager, so ads titled product owner are not in it. That matters because PSPO is a product-owner credential and employers use the two titles in different ways. Ads such as a product marketing manager role can also match the title words.
The UK and Indian samples are small, so read those two columns with care. The count shows where an ad names the phrase; it cannot tell whether the ad requires it, prefers it or mentions it in passing (for example "certification not required"). The counts are lower bounds, so the true number could be higher: Adzuna may hold only part of an ad's text.
Do product managers need certifications?
No: you do not need a certification to apply for product-manager jobs, unless an employer writes one into its ad. In October 2026, the phrase pspo appeared in 29 of the 33,674 ads with a US product-manager title on Adzuna, and it is the only certification phrase we count for this job. In UK product-manager ads the phrase appeared in 4 of the 1,765, and in Indian ones in 8 of the 2,577 (small samples, read with care).
The ads also name skill words. In US product-manager ads on Adzuna in October 2026, the word roadmap appeared in 50% of the ads and jira in 5.3%. Those are the two skill words we count, so other skills may appear in the ads too, and a word such as roadmap can also appear in a company description.
We did not count the credentials from IBM, AIPMM (the Association of International Product Marketing and Management), Product School and Pragmatic Institute (companies that sell product-management courses) or Scrum Alliance (a second group that runs Scrum credentials) in the product-manager ads. An ad can name them, and our data cannot say how often it does.
Which is the best certification for a product manager?
The best certification for a product manager is the one that closes a gap you can name: no product experience yet, a Scrum team that wants a product owner, or an employer that writes a credential into its ads.
Terms in the table: Coursera is an online course site, and a course certificate records that you finished lessons and has no supervised exam (an exam watched by a proctor, a person or software that checks you during the test). An exam voucher is a prepaid code for one exam attempt. Scrum Education Units (SEUs) are credits that Scrum Alliance asks for when you renew, meaning when you pay or earn credits to keep the credential valid. A prerequisite is something you need before you start.
| Your situation | Credential to consider | What the vendor states |
|---|---|---|
| New to product work | IBM Product Manager Professional Certificate (course certificate, on Coursera) | Beginner level; seven courses; about three months at 10 hours a week; no prior experience required |
| Target team works in Scrum | Professional Scrum Product Owner I (PSPO I), Scrum.org | $200 per attempt; 80 questions in 60 minutes; 85% to pass; no mandatory course; no renewal fee |
| Want a Scrum course route | Certified Scrum Product Owner (CSPO), Scrum Alliance | Earned through a CSPO course (format set by the course provider); renew every two years with SEUs |
| Want a product-management exam | Certified Product Manager (CPM), AIPMM | AIPMM lists no formal prerequisites for its CPM course (we did not check the exam rule); self-study course $1,500 with the exam voucher included |
| Want a short live course with projects | Product Management Foundations Certification, Product School | $2,999; three weeks part time; six live sessions (12 hours); one graded final project (a project marked by the school, in place of an exam) |
| Want a multi-course program | Pragmatic Institute Product Management Certification | Three courses (Foundations, Focus, Build); a discount of $200 when you sign up for all three |
Best certifications for product managers by situation. Source: Scrum.org PSPO I page read October 3, 2026; other vendor pages read October 11, 2026 (links under Sources).
One option for a reader with no product job yet is the IBM course certificate, which asks for no prior experience; we did not capture its price or renewal. Our own view is that the product requirements document from the first step is worth building either way, because it costs nothing. If your target team runs Scrum, PSPO I costs $200 per attempt.
Best certifications for technical product managers
We found no credential written for technical product managers, the product managers who work closely with engineers on software or data products. None of the vendor pages we read describes one. For an engineer moving into the role, the gap is product work, and the product requirements document and roadmap from the first step address it. If the team runs Scrum, PSPO I tests the product-owner role in it.
What does a product manager certification cost?
The single credentials we priced cost from $200 (PSPO I, one attempt) to $2,999 (Product School's single course), and Product School's membership is $3,999 a year, in US dollars as shown on the vendor pages we read. Three of the six vendors did not show a full price on the pages we read.
| Credential | Price we read | Renewal | Cost we could confirm |
|---|---|---|---|
| PSPO I (Scrum.org) | $200 per attempt | Does not expire; no renewal fee | $200 on the first try; $400 if you need a second attempt |
| CSPO (Scrum Alliance) | Not listed on Scrum Alliance's page; set by the course provider | Every two years, with SEUs | Course price plus renewal; not priced here |
| CPM (AIPMM) | $1,500 for the self-study course with the exam voucher | Not stated on the page we read | $1,500 to buy; renewal unknown |
| Product Management Foundations (Product School) | $2,999 for the single course | Not stated on the page we read | $2,999 to buy; renewal unknown |
| Product School Pro Membership | $3,999 a year, with 11 live certification courses | Yearly membership | $3,999 for one year |
| IBM Product Manager Professional Certificate (Coursera) | Not captured; check Coursera when you enroll | Not stated on the page we read | Not priced here |
| Pragmatic Institute Product Management Certification | Not shown; $200 off when you enroll in all three courses | Not stated on the page we read | Not priced here |
Product manager certification cost in US dollars, as shown on the vendor pages. Source: Scrum.org PSPO I page read October 3, 2026; Scrum Alliance, AIPMM, Product School, Coursera and Pragmatic Institute pages read October 11, 2026.
At Scrum.org, each $200 fee buys one attempt, so two attempts come to $400 ($200 plus $200). The AIPMM page also lists an exam-only option without study materials, with no price shown next to it. Product School's Pro Membership price was marked as a limited-time offer when we read the page, so check it before you pay.
Show the numbers
| Item | Fee |
|---|---|
| Fees to get certified: Exam | $200 |
| Fees to get certified: One retake (optional) | $200 |
Entry level product manager certification: where should you start?
Start with skills you can show, then add a credential if your target ads name one: the IBM course certificate for no experience, or PSPO I for a Scrum team. A prerequisite is something you need before you start. IBM's Coursera page states no prior experience is required, Scrum.org states PSPO I has no mandatory course, and AIPMM lists no formal prerequisites for its CPM course (we did not check the exam rule). The Product School, Scrum Alliance and Pragmatic Institute pages we read state none; we did not check beyond that.
Is there a product manager certification for beginners?
Yes: Coursera lists the IBM Product Manager Professional Certificate as beginner level. Its seven courses take about three months at 10 hours a week, and the last one includes a practice exam for the AIPMM Certified Product Manager (CPM). That practice exam is not the CPM itself, which AIPMM sells separately. For a beginner who wants an exam rather than a course, PSPO I is a $200 exam, but it tests Scrum's product-owner role, not product management as a whole.
A first project employers can open
Pick an app you use, write a one-page product requirements document for one feature (the problem, who has it, what you would build and how you would measure it) and turn it into a roadmap for three releases. Put the tasks on a Jira board or any task tracker, then share the documents as a link in your applications. These match the two skill words we count in product-manager ads, roadmap and jira.
Is a product manager certification worth it?
A certification pays off for a product manager when it fills a gap you can name. That gap can be Scrum vocabulary for a new team, structured lessons before a first product role, or an employer you want to work for that names the credential in its ads. Our own view, not a measured result: a portfolio (a set of your own product documents that employers can open) costs nothing, so build one before you pay for a credential.
In October 2026, the phrase pspo appeared in 29 of the 33,674 US product-manager ads on Adzuna. PSPO I costs $200 a try and does not expire, so you pay once if you pass on the first try. The course programs at $1,500 to $2,999 buy teaching and graded projects.
Show the numbers
| Item | PSPO |
|---|---|
| Questions | 80 questions |
| Exam time | 60 minutes (1 h) |
| Passing score | 85% |
| Format | Multiple choice |
| Languages | 3 languages |
What do Reddit posters ask about the best certifications for product managers?
Posters ask whether a product manager certification helps a job application, and which product-owner exam to take. We grouped the questions in the Reddit posts we collected on r/agile (Reddit is a discussion site; each "r/" is a forum). We collected the questions, not the replies, so this list shows what people ask, not what others told them.
- A poster moving from operations into product management asked whether a product management certification was worth the time, or whether building projects was the better use of it. The poster had read that some people credited a certification with interviews "while others say employers cared much more about experience" (r/agile, July 2026). Our answer: in October 2026,
roadmapappeared in 50% of the ads for US product-manager jobs on Adzuna, and a roadmap is something you can build yourself. - Whether PSPO I helps with job applications or is something to add once already in a product-owner role (r/agile, July 2026). The phrase
pspoappeared in 29 of the 33,674 US product-manager ads in October 2026; we do not count product-owner ads on this page. - Which to take, CSPO or PSPO, asked by people new to Scrum (r/agile, June 2026, r/agile, March 2026). A lead business analyst (a senior analyst who studies what a business needs) asked the same; the poster wrote that applications were "bouncing back" and said the poster had never held a product owner title (r/agile, May 2026). Our answer: PSPO I is an exam with no mandatory course and no renewal fee, while the CSPO comes through a course and is renewed every two years.
- Whether Scrum Alliance certifications and on-demand courses are worth it for someone moving into product management (r/agile, May 2026).
What we did not check
- Prices for the CSPO course, the IBM certificate on Coursera, the Pragmatic Institute courses and the AIPMM exam-only voucher.
- The AIPMM CPM exam format, its supervision and its renewal rules.
- SAFe POPM (Product Owner/Product Manager), a credential from the Scaled Agile Framework.
- Pay for product managers: the US Bureau of Labor Statistics page for the nearest occupation could not be read when we checked, and O*NET, the US government's occupation database, lists no occupation titled product manager.
Related roles and where to go next
A project manager runs a project to a deadline and budget, while a product manager decides what the product should become; our project-manager page shows which credentials those ads name. A Scrum master helps a team use Scrum, while the product owner orders the team's work. Scrum.org's Scrum master exam, PSM I, has the same $200 fee and 80-question format as PSPO I, and our PSM page covers it. For the Scrum Alliance side, see our CSM page and our guide to Scrum master certifications. If you have no degree, see our guide to becoming a product manager without a degree.
Sources
- Adzuna job-ad counts, ads with
product managerin the job title in the US, the UK and India, October 2026; analysis: CertWorthIt. How we count. - Scrum.org, Professional Scrum Product Owner I and Professional Scrum Master I, read October 3, 2026.
- Scrum Alliance, Certified Scrum Product Owner, read October 11, 2026.
- AIPMM, Certified Product Manager, read October 11, 2026.
- Product School, product management certifications, read October 11, 2026.
- Pragmatic Institute, courses, read October 11, 2026.
- Coursera, IBM Product Manager Professional Certificate, read October 11, 2026.
- O*NET OnLine, occupation search for product manager, read October 11, 2026.
- Reddit threads linked in the text, from the posts we collected.
Edited by Jere Salmisto · Data checked October 11, 2026
Questions people ask
Which certification is best for a product manager?
For a product manager (the person who decides what a product should do, for whom and in what order), the best certification is the one that fills a gap you can name. For most beginners, build a product requirements document and a roadmap first, then add a credential (a certificate or an exam result) only if your target ads name one. If you are new to product work, consider the IBM Product Manager Professional Certificate on Coursera, an online course site, which lists no prior experience as required. It is a course certificate (proof that you finished lessons), not a supervised exam (an exam watched by a proctor, a person or software that checks you during the test). If your target team works in Scrum, a way of running software work in short cycles, PSPO I (Professional Scrum Product Owner I) from Scrum.org, the group that runs the Scrum exams, costs $200 per attempt and has no renewal fee (no payment to keep it valid). In October 2026, the exact phrase pspo appeared in 29 of the 33,674 US product-manager ads on Adzuna, a job-ad search site. We count no other certification phrase for this job.
Do you need a certification to be a product manager?
No certification is needed to apply for product-manager jobs unless an employer writes one into its ad. In October 2026, the exact phrase pspo (the code in the names of the Professional Scrum Product Owner exams from Scrum.org, the group that runs the Scrum exams; Scrum is a team method that plans work in short sprints) appeared in 29 of the 33,674 ads for US product managers on Adzuna, a job-ad search site. That share is out of all US ads with product manager in the job title. The word roadmap (a plan of what a product will get and when) appeared in 50% of the ads for US product managers that month.
How do I become a certified product manager?
To become a certified product manager, pick one credential (a certificate or an exam result) and meet its rule. PSPO I (Professional Scrum Product Owner I) from Scrum.org, the group that runs the Scrum exams, is an online exam with no mandatory course: $200 per attempt, 80 questions in 60 minutes, passing score 85%. AIPMM (the Association of International Product Marketing and Management) awards the Certified Product Manager (CPM); its self-study course costs $1,500 and includes the exam voucher (a prepaid code for one exam), and AIPMM lists no formal prerequisites (nothing you need before you start) for the course; we did not check the exam rule. Course programs such as the Product Management Foundations Certification ($2,999) from Product School, a company that sells product-management courses, end in a graded project (a project marked by the school) instead of a supervised exam (an exam watched by a proctor). Some credentials also need renewal, meaning you pay or earn credits to keep them valid; the pages we read did not state it for CPM or Product School. You can apply for product-manager jobs without any of them. A product requirements document (a short write-up of what to build and why) and a roadmap (a plan of what a product will get and when) that you made yourself show the work directly.
Will AI replace product management?
We cannot say whether AI (artificial intelligence) will replace product management, the work of deciding what a product should do and why. We count job ads on Adzuna, a job-ad search site, and one month of counts (October 2026) cannot show a trend. We did not look for an AI statement in the sources we read. What a beginner can do anyway is build a product requirements document (a short write-up of what to build and why) and a roadmap (a plan of what a product will get and when), because that is the work of deciding what to build.
Is there a product manager certification for beginners?
Yes. Coursera, an online course site, lists the IBM Product Manager Professional Certificate as beginner level: seven courses, about three months at 10 hours a week, with no prior experience required. It is a course certificate, meaning it records that you finished the lessons. Its last course includes a practice exam for the Certified Product Manager (CPM) from AIPMM (the Association of International Product Marketing and Management), a separate credential with its own exam. PSPO I (Professional Scrum Product Owner I) from Scrum.org, the group that runs the Scrum exams, needs no course before the exam, but it tests Scrum, a method where software teams plan their work in short sprints, rather than product management as a whole. The exam fee is $200 and there is no renewal fee (no payment to keep it valid).