UX design certification: what 1,644 US job ads name
No UX design certification is needed to apply for UX (user experience) designer jobs unless an ad asks for one. In October 2026, the exact phrase google ux design appeared in none of the 1,644 US ads with UX designer in the job title on Adzuna, a job-ad search site, and google career certificate in none of the 1,644 ads.
UX design is the work of making an app or website easy and clear to use. A UX designer researches how people use a product, sketches screens and tests them with users. We count those two certificate phrases and no other credential for this job, and we count no skill words for it.
Your first step, even with no target employer yet: open ten UX designer listings on a job board or on employers' career pages, and write down every credential, tool and portfolio request each one names. Then start one case study (a write-up of a single project: the problem, who has it, the research you did, the screens you tried and what changed) for an app you use. A portfolio is the set of case studies an employer can open, and it costs nothing to start.
- Reading the data: what US, UK and Indian ads name
- Picking one: the best certification by situation
- Budgeting: what each one costs
- Starting from zero: entry-level options
What do ux designer job ads ask for?
Instant answer from October 2026 job ads. No email needed.
Not enough ads here yet.
Source: Adzuna job ads, October 2026.
Get your full report
Two optional questions shape your first step. No email needed.
Show the numbers
| Item | Ads | Share of ads |
|---|---|---|
| Google UX Design | 0 | 0 of 1,644 |
| Google Career Certificates | 0 | 0 of 1,644 |
On this page
- Which UX designer certifications do job ads name?
- Do UX designers need certifications?
- Which certification is best for UX designers?
- How much does a UX design certification cost?
- Entry-level UX designer certification: where should a beginner start?
- Is a UX designer certification worth it?
- Is UX design a good career in 2026?
- UX design certification on Reddit: what do posters say?
- What we did not check
- Related roles and where to go next
- Sources
Which UX designer certifications do job ads name?
We count two certificate phrases in UX-designer ads, and both are Google phrases. We asked Adzuna how many ads in the US, the UK and India had the words ux designer in the job title in October 2026. Then we counted the ads that also contain each phrase, searched as a quoted phrase (the words together, in that order), anywhere in the text Adzuna holds for the ad.
| Phrase searched | US UX-designer ads | UK UX-designer ads (small sample) | Indian UX-designer ads |
|---|---|---|---|
google ux design (Google UX Design Professional Certificate) |
none of the 1,644 | none of the 155 | none of the 809 |
google career certificate (Google's program family) |
none of the 1,644 | none of the 155 | none of the 809 |
UX designer certifications in job ads, by country. Source: Adzuna job-ad data, ads with ux designer in the job title, collected in October 2026: 1,644 in the US, 155 in the UK and 809 in India. Analysis: CertWorthIt. How we count.
The phrase google ux design is the start of the certificate's full name, so an ad that writes only "Google UX certificate" does not match it. The phrase google career certificate is one common wording of the name of Google's certificate family, and because the family name can be written in other ways, this count may miss ads.
The UK sample is small, so read the UK column with care. A count shows where an ad names the phrase; it cannot tell whether the ad requires it, prefers it or mentions it in passing. The real number could be higher, because Adzuna may hold only part of an ad's text. A count of none means we found no ad using those exact words; it is not a verdict on the certificate, and an ad can still ask for it under another name.
We did not count the credentials from Nielsen Norman Group (NN/g), the Interaction Design Foundation (IxDF), the International Association of Accessibility Professionals (IAAP) or Human Factors International (HFI) in UX-designer ads. An ad can name them, and our data cannot say how often it does.
Do UX designers need certifications?
No. An employer can judge your work directly through your portfolio, and you can apply when an ad names no credential. For India, google ux design matched none of the 809 UX-designer ads on Adzuna in October 2026, and google career certificate matched none of the 809 ads. In the UK, the Google UX phrase turned up in none of the 155 UX-designer ads in the same month (small sample, read with care).
This page gives no job-ad figure for design tools or methods. Your own ten listings from the first step are a direct local check of what employers in your market write into their ads.
Which certification is best for UX designers?
The best certification for UX designers is the one that fills a gap you can name: structured lessons from zero, a low-cost course library, live training your employer pays for, or a move into accessibility work.
Terms in the table: a course certificate records that you finished lessons and has no proctored exam (an exam where a person or software watches you). Accessibility means making products usable by people with disabilities. Accredited means approved by an outside body; NN/g says its certification is not.
| Your situation | Credential to consider | What the vendor states |
|---|---|---|
| New to UX, want structured lessons | Google UX Design Professional Certificate (course certificate on Coursera, an online course site) | Beginner level; 8 courses; about 6 months at 10 hours a week; over 200 hours of instruction; no degree or experience required |
| Want a low-cost library of courses | Interaction Design Foundation (IxDF) membership | €20 a month for 42 courses; course certificates included, which IxDF describes as industry-recognized; 10 career programs, one of them for UX designers |
| Employer pays for live training | NN/g UX Certification (Nielsen Norman Group, a company that runs live online UX courses) | Pass 5 courses and their exams, 30 or more hours of training, chosen from 50 or more courses; does not expire; not accredited |
| Moving into accessibility work | CPACC (Certified Professional in Accessibility Core Competencies), IAAP | 100 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours, closed book (no notes or books allowed); asks for 1 year of accessibility experience or a role with some accessibility duties |
| Vendor says it suits beginners | Certified Usability Analyst (CUA), Human Factors International (HFI) | HFI says it is for people starting a UX career or switching to UX; price and exam details not confirmed, so ask HFI before planning around it |
Best certification for UX designers, by situation. Source: Coursera, IxDF, NN/g, IAAP and HFI pages read October 12, 2026 (links under Sources).
Of the credentials we checked, the Google certificate is the one whose beginner level and price we could confirm, with no degree or experience required. Our own view, not a measured result: start the free case study from the first step either way, and pay for a course when you know which gap it fills.
Best certification for a UI/UX designer
A UI/UX designer works on both sides of a product: UX, how easy it is to use, and UI (user interface), the screens, buttons, colors and type. The same situations from the table apply. The closest US government job category joins the two. The Bureau of Labor Statistics says web and digital interface designers create the look of a site (photos, color, fonts, graphics and layout), and that they are responsible for its functionality and usability too. For the visual side, finished screens in your case studies show the work directly.
How much does a UX design certification cost?
Monthly plans start at €20 a month for IxDF and $49 a month for the Google certificate on Coursera; one-off totals run from $510 for the CPACC exam to about $6,500 for the NN/g UX Certification and about $19,500 for NN/g's larger UX Master Certification, as shown on the vendor pages we read. A list price is the standard price before any discount.
| Credential | Price we read | Renewal | Total we can show |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google UX Design (Coursera) | $49 a month after a 7-day free trial (US list price) | Not stated on the page we read | About $294 at Google's pace of 6 months |
| IxDF membership | €20 a month | Membership; billing terms not stated in the text we read | Not totaled |
| NN/g UX Certification | About $6,500 in total (NN/g's figure); exams $95 each | Does not expire | About $6,500; the 5 exam fees alone come to $475 |
| CPACC (IAAP) | $510 standard; $410 for IAAP members; $170 in Emerging and Developing Economy countries | 45 education credits in each 3-year period | $510 on the first try; $825 with one retake |
| CUA (HFI) | Not shown on the page we read | Not stated on the page we read | Not priced here |
UX design certification cost, as shown on the vendor pages. Source: Coursera, IxDF, NN/g, IAAP and HFI pages read October 12, 2026. Coursera's $49 is the US list price.
At Coursera's US price, Google's estimate of six months at 10 hours a week comes to $294 (six months at $49 a month); finish in three months and it is $147. If you plan more than one Coursera program, our page on whether Coursera Plus is worth it works through the subscription's break-even, and our Coursera review covers the platform itself.
NN/g gives its total as approximate and says pricing changes periodically. Its exams are online and unproctored (no one watches you take them): 30 questions in one hour, 80% to pass, up to 3 attempts, taken within 35 days of the course. Five exams at $95 each come to $475. The larger NN/g UX Master Certification, 15 courses and their exams with 100 or more hours of training, is about $19,500 by NN/g's own figure.
IAAP lists a CPACC retake fee of $315 at the standard rate, $255 for members and $100 in Emerging and Developing Economy countries. That group gets a lower fee; IAAP publishes which countries count, and we did not check the list. One retake at the standard rate brings the total to $825 ($510 plus $315). To keep the CPACC, you earn 45 education credits (hours of approved learning) over the 3 years it is valid; IAAP suggests 5 to 10 hours a week for 6 to 8 weeks to prepare for the exam.
Entry-level UX designer certification: where should a beginner start?
Start with one case study, then add a beginner course if you want structure. Coursera lists the Google UX Design Professional Certificate as beginner level with no degree or experience required. The CPACC asks for a year of accessibility experience or a new or changing role with some accessibility duties; with less than a year, IAAP asks you to describe your background and goals. That makes the CPACC a later step for a beginner with no accessibility work behind them.
Is there a UX designer certification for beginners?
Yes: Coursera lists the Google UX Design Professional Certificate, from Google Career Certificates, as beginner level. It has 8 courses and over 200 hours of instruction. It also carries an ACE recommendation of up to 10 college credits or 9 ECTS credits. ACE, the American Council on Education, reviews courses for US colleges, and ECTS is the credit system European universities use. Whether a college accepts those credits is the college's decision.
Read the Google certificate as a course certificate, not an exam result. Our guide to certificate vs certification explains the difference, and the one on certificate vs degree compares a course route with a degree.
A first case study you can build
Pick an app you use and one task in it that frustrates you. Ask three people to do that task while you watch, note where they get stuck, sketch two different screens that fix it and test the better one with the same people. Write it up on one page: the problem, what you saw, what you changed and what happened. Two or three of these make a portfolio you can link in applications.
Is a UX designer certification worth it?
A UX designer certification is worth paying for when it fills a gap you can name, such as structured lessons before your first project or accessibility knowledge for a new role. Google's certificate phrase, google ux design, matched none of the 1,644 US UX-designer ads on Adzuna in October 2026. Judge a course by what it teaches you and by whether your own target ads name it.
Of the totals we could show, costs differ by a wide margin, from about $294 for Google's certificate at its estimated pace to about $6,500 for the NN/g UX Certification. If you are changing careers, our career change guide covers how to pick an online course, and our page on skills-based hiring looks at what employers check besides degrees.
Is UX design a good career in 2026?
Job ads cannot tell you whether UX design suits you, but pay and outlook data show what the work pays in the US. The US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), the government agency for job statistics, has no separate occupation code for UX designers. The closest one is SOC 15-1255 (SOC is the US list of occupation codes), web and digital interface designers.
The BLS reports a median annual wage of $104,000 for that occupation in May 2025; the median is the middle value, so half earn more and half less. It covers workers at all experience levels, so it is not a starting salary. For comparison, the median was $99,520 for the wider group of web developers and digital designers and $50,980 for all US occupations. UX designers may be counted in this code or in others, so read it as the closest match, not a UX figure.
How much demand is there for UX designers?
Adzuna held 1,644 US job ads titled UX designer in October 2026, and 809 in India. One month of counts cannot show whether demand is rising or falling. For the closest US occupation (SOC 15-1255), the BLS projects employment of 132,700 in 2025 and 140,800 in 2035, and says the wider group of web developers and digital designers will grow faster than the average for all occupations.
UX design certification on Reddit: what do posters say?
In the r/UXDesign posts we collected (Reddit is a discussion site, and r/UXDesign is its UX forum), the replies we quote point to applied work and case studies more than to courses. These are single posters, not a survey.
- In a thread about how an 18-year-old could become a UX designer, one reply said: "How you apply design experience is more important than your formal/bootcamp experience." (r/UXDesign, July 2026). A self-taught poster in the same thread, who took no bootcamp or online course, wrote: "No referrals, only had 2 strong case studies, and applied to less than 30 companies." (r/UXDesign, July 2026).
- A designer who said they had 26 years of experience wrote: "I updated my portfolio, got Google UX certified and an additional two A.I. certificates." The poster reported plenty of interviews and no job offer (r/UXDesign, July 2026).
- In a thread started by a designer six years in and five months out of work, one reply said: "The interviews I got came from my shipped B2B work after I changed how I wrote about it." B2B work means products sold to businesses. The same replier said two invented portfolio projects got no responses (r/UXDesign, September 2026).
- Under a hiring manager's post about a mid-level role, one reply described the course as a starting point: "I started with the Google UX cert, and now working towards learning/practicing the fundamentals." (r/UXDesign, August 2026).
What we did not check
- The NN/g price per course, and whether NN/g charges for an exam retake.
- How the IxDF membership is billed (monthly or yearly) and what IAAP membership costs.
- Prices and exam details for the HFI Certified Usability Analyst (CUA): HFI's CUA page did not load when we checked.
- Coursera prices outside the US, and whether the Google certificate has any renewal.
Related roles and where to go next
A product manager decides what a product should do and in what order, and works closely with UX designers on it; our product-manager page shows which credentials those ads name. For how we search titles and phrases, see our methodology.
Sources
All pages below were read October 12, 2026.
- Adzuna job-ad counts, ads with
ux designerin the job title in the US, the UK and India, October 2026; analysis: CertWorthIt. How we count. - Coursera, Google UX Design Professional Certificate.
- Nielsen Norman Group, UX Certification and UX Certification exams.
- Interaction Design Foundation, memberships and pricing.
- IAAP, CPACC.
- Human Factors International, certification.
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook, Web Developers and Digital Designers (read from an archived copy of this page; wage data for May 2025, projections for 2025 to 2035).
- Reddit threads linked in the text, from the r/UXDesign posts we collected.
Edited by Jere Salmisto · Data checked October 12, 2026
Questions people ask
Which UX design certificate is the best?
The best UX design certificate is the one that fills a gap you can name. UX (user experience) design is the work of making an app or website easy to use. For a beginner who wants structured lessons, Coursera, an online course site, lists the Google UX Design Professional Certificate as beginner level with no degree or experience required. It has 8 courses, takes about 6 months at 10 hours a week and costs $49 a month at the US list price (Coursera, checked in October 2026). For accessibility work (making products usable by people with disabilities), the CPACC exam (Certified Professional in Accessibility Core Competencies) from IAAP, the International Association of Accessibility Professionals, costs $510. On Adzuna, a job-ad search site, google ux design, our search string for this certificate, matched none of the 1,644 US UX-designer job ads in October 2026.
Is a UX certificate worth it?
A UX (user experience) certificate is worth it when it fills a gap you can name, such as structured lessons before your first design project. In October 2026, the exact phrase google ux design appeared in none of the 1,644 US UX-designer ads on Adzuna, a job-ad search site, and google career certificate in none of the 1,644 ads. Those are the two phrases we count for this job. A portfolio (a set of your own design work that employers can open) costs nothing to start. Build one case study (a write-up of one project: the problem, your research, the designs you tried and the result) before you pay. Google's certificate on Coursera costs $49 a month at the US list price (checked in October 2026), so the 6 months Google estimates at 10 hours a week come to about $294.
Is UX still in demand?
We counted 1,644 US job ads titled UX designer on Adzuna, a job-ad search site, in October 2026, and 809 in India. One month of counts cannot show whether UX (user experience) demand is rising or falling. The US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) has no separate occupation for UX designers. For the closest one, web and digital interface designers (code 15-1255), it projects US employment of 132,700 in 2025 and 140,800 in 2035. It reported a median annual wage of $104,000 for that group in May 2025 (the median is the middle value: half earn more, half less).
Do you need a certification to be a UX designer?
No. You can apply for UX (user experience) designer jobs without a certification when the ad names none, and what an employer can check directly is your portfolio (a set of your own design work). In October 2026, google ux design was in none of the 1,644 US UX-designer ads on Adzuna, a job-ad search site, and in none of the 809 Indian ones. We count that phrase and google career certificate for this job, and no other credential, so an ad can name another UX credential without showing up in our count.
What is the best certification for a UI/UX designer?
A UI/UX designer works on both UX (user experience: how easy a product is to use) and UI (user interface: the screens, buttons, colors and type). The best certification is the one that fills your gap. For structured lessons from zero, Coursera, an online course site, lists the Google UX Design Professional Certificate as beginner level. It has 8 courses, takes about 6 months at 10 hours a week and costs $49 a month at Coursera's US price (checked in October 2026). For a library of courses, the Interaction Design Foundation (IxDF) membership lists 42 courses for €20 a month. In October 2026, Adzuna, a job-ad search site, listed 1,644 US UX-designer job ads.
What is the best UX certification for beginners?
For a beginner in UX (user experience) design, the Google UX Design Professional Certificate is the beginner credential whose level and price we could confirm. Coursera, an online course site, lists it as beginner level with no degree or experience required. It has 8 courses, takes about 6 months at 10 hours a week and costs $49 a month in the US (checked in October 2026). It is a course certificate (proof that you finished lessons), with no proctored exam (an exam where someone watches you). The CPACC accessibility exam from IAAP (the International Association of Accessibility Professionals) asks for a year of accessibility experience or a role with some accessibility duties, so it is a later step. Google's certificate name, searched as google ux design, turned up in none of the 1,644 US UX-designer ads on Adzuna, a job-ad search site, in October 2026.
What do Reddit posters say about the best certifications for UX designers?
Reddit is a discussion site, and r/UXDesign is its UX (user experience) forum. In the r/UXDesign posts we collected from July to September 2026, the replies we quote point to applied work and case studies (write-ups of real projects) more than to courses. One self-taught poster wrote of having two strong case studies when applying. One experienced designer who earned the Google UX certificate reported plenty of interviews and no job offer. These are single posters, not a survey. For scale, Adzuna, a job-ad search site, held 1,644 US UX-designer job ads in October 2026.
Is UX design worth it as a career?
Job ads cannot tell you whether UX (user experience) design suits you, but they show that employers advertise the job. We counted 1,644 US UX-designer job ads on Adzuna, a job-ad search site, in October 2026. For pay, the US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) has no UX designer occupation. For the closest one, web and digital interface designers (code 15-1255), it reported a median annual wage of $104,000 in May 2025, against $50,980 for all US occupations. The median is the middle value: half earn more, half less.