System administrator certifications: what 6,233 US job ads name
Among system administrator certifications, our verdict is to pay first for one technical credential that matches the servers you run: Linux, Windows Server or a cloud platform. ITIL 4 Foundation is a good second credential where change control is formal. In October 2026, ITIL appeared in 7.8% of the 6,233 US system-administrator ads we counted (Adzuna), and the phrase azure certification in 35 of them.
Those two phrases are what our count tracks for this job title. The technical certifications are compared using the vendors' own figures: price, exam length and the experience each vendor recommends. An ad that names neither phrase can still prefer a certified admin: the count shows what employers write, not how they hire.
- Choosing a first credential: the best certification for a system administrator
- Comparing countries: what system-administrator ads name in each one
- Planning a route: from IT support to sysadmin to cloud
What do system administrator job ads ask for?
Instant answer from October 2026 job ads. No email needed.
Certificates named
Source: Adzuna job ads, October 2026.
Show the numbers
| Item | Ads | Share of ads |
|---|---|---|
| ITIL | 489 | 7.8% |
| Microsoft Azure certifications | 35 | 35 of 6,233 |
On this page
- Which certification is best for a system administrator?
- Which certifications do system-administrator ads name, by country?
- Which skills do sysadmin certifications test?
- System administrator certification path: from IT support to sysadmin to cloud
- Is a system administrator certification worth it?
- Best certifications for system administrators: what Reddit posters ask
- Related roles and where to go next
- Sources
Which certification is best for a system administrator?
The best certification for a system administrator is the one that matches the operating system and platform of the job you want. A Linux shop tests different skills from a Windows Server shop, and a cloud team asks for a third set. The vendors are explicit about who each exam is for.
| Your servers | Credential | Price (US) | Experience the vendor recommends |
|---|---|---|---|
| Linux, any distribution | CompTIA Linux+ (XK0-006) | $399 | 12 months of hands-on work with Linux servers |
| Red Hat Enterprise Linux | Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA, exam EX200) | Not shown on Red Hat's exam page | Red Hat's RH124 and RH134 courses, or equivalent experience with RHEL |
| Windows Server, on premises and hybrid | Windows Server Hybrid Administrator Associate (AZ-802) | Set by country | Several years with Windows Server |
| Microsoft Azure | Azure Administrator Associate (AZ-104) | Set by country | Familiarity with operating systems, networking, servers and virtualization |
| Amazon Web Services | AWS Certified CloudOps Engineer – Associate (SOA-C03) | $150 | About one year operating workloads on AWS |
| Several clouds, vendor-neutral | CompTIA Cloud+ (CV0-004) | $399 | Two to three years as a systems administrator or cloud engineer |
| Formal change and incident processes | ITIL 4 Foundation | $690 exam bundle | Not stated in our sources |
Source: CompTIA, Red Hat, Microsoft Learn, AWS and PeopleCert pages listed under Sources, checked October 3 to 5, 2026.
Our reading: take the exam for the platform you already touch at work. Each of these exams assumes some time spent on real systems, and a credential that matches your daily work is easier to pass and easier to defend in an interview.
Best certifications for Linux system administrators
We compare two Linux administration exams here, and they test in different ways. CompTIA Linux+ is vendor-neutral: up to 90 multiple-choice and performance-based questions in 90 minutes, 720 to pass on a scale of 100 to 900, offered in English only. CompTIA recommends 12 months of hands-on work with Linux servers, plus A+, Network+ or Server+, or comparable knowledge. Renewal costs $150 and 50 continuing education units (CEUs) every three years.
The RHCSA is Red Hat's own exam, and Red Hat describes it as a hands-on, practical exam of real-world tasks. Its objectives include file handling, shell scripting, storage and file systems, user management, networking, and security including the firewall and SELinux. Red Hat's exam page shows no price, so check it in your region before you plan a budget.
In our view the RHCSA suits jobs on Red Hat Enterprise Linux and its relatives, while Linux+ suits mixed environments. The RHCSA's practical format also makes it a good test of whether you can do the work, not only describe it.
Best certifications for Windows system administrators
For Windows servers, Microsoft's credential is Windows Server Hybrid Administrator Associate, earned with exam AZ-802. The exam lasts 120 minutes and is offered in English only. It covers Active Directory Domain Services on premises and in the cloud, virtual machines and containers, storage and file services, high availability, disaster recovery, and the migration of servers to Azure. Microsoft says candidates should have several years of experience with Windows Server operating systems.
That recommendation makes AZ-802 a credential for someone already working with Windows servers, not a way into the job. Renewal is a free online assessment on Microsoft Learn, and the exam price is set by the country where you take it.
Best Microsoft certifications for system administrators
Three Microsoft credentials fit sysadmin work, depending on where the servers run:
- Windows Server Hybrid Administrator Associate (AZ-802) for Windows servers on premises and in hybrid setups.
- Azure Administrator Associate (AZ-104) for Azure: 100 minutes, a scaled passing score of 700, offered in 10 languages, with a free renewal assessment every 12 months. Microsoft lists no formal prerequisite but expects experience with PowerShell, the Azure CLI, the Azure portal and Microsoft Entra ID.
- Azure Fundamentals (AZ-900) as an optional first look at the cloud: $99, 45 minutes, and it does not expire. It tests concepts, not administration.
Microsoft's FAQ says Associate exams typically cost $165, priced by country. If you see older advice about SC-400, note that Microsoft retired that certification on May 30, 2025. Microsoft's current certification in that area is Information Security Administrator Associate (SC-401), which is aimed at protecting data with Microsoft Purview rather than at running servers.
Which certifications do system-administrator ads name, by country?
For each country we asked Adzuna for one month of ads whose title contains the local job title. The titles were system administrator in the US, the UK and India, administrador de sistemas in Brazil, Mexico and Spain, administrateur système in France, Systemadministrator in Germany, sistemista in Italy and administrator systemów in Poland. Within those ads we counted two exact phrases: itil and azure certification.
| Country | System-administrator ads | ITIL (ads) | ITIL (% of ads) | azure certification (ads) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| US | 6,233 | 489 | 7.8% | 35 |
| UK | 150 | 7 | 5% | 0 |
| India | 270 | 43 | 16% | 0 |
| France | 845 | 50 | 6% | 0 |
| Germany | 2,921 | 84 | 2.9% | 0 |
| Italy | 1,372 | 11 | 11 of 1,372 | 0 |
| Spain | 68 | 0 | 0 of 68 | 0 |
| Poland | 80 | 1 | 1% | 0 |
| Brazil | 17 | 5 | 5 of 17 | 0 |
| Mexico | 19 | 0 | 0 of 19 | 0 |
Source: Adzuna API, system-administrator job ads collected in October 2026. Where the ITIL (% of ads) cell shows a count instead of a share, it gives the ads that named ITIL out of that country's total. Analysis: CertWorthIt. How we count.
US. Of the 6,233 US ads, 489 named ITIL. The phrase azure certification appeared in 35 of the same ads. Our reading: ITIL in a US sysadmin ad points to an employer with formal service processes. It is a process credential, so it sits next to a technical one and does not replace it.
India. ITIL appeared in 43 of 270 Indian system-administrator ads, a share of 16%.
France and Germany. In France, 50 of 845 administrateur système ads named ITIL. In Germany, the count was 84 of 2,921 Systemadministrator ads.
UK. ITIL appeared in 7 of 150 UK system-administrator ads.
Azure outside the US. The phrase azure certification appeared in none of the 150 UK, none of the 270 Indian, none of the 845 French and none of the 2,921 German system-administrator ads in October 2026. Ads that name Microsoft credentials in another language or by exam code are not caught by this English phrase.
Italy, Spain and Poland. ITIL appeared in 11 of the 1,372 Italian sistemista ads, in none of the 68 Spanish administrador de sistemas ads and in 1 of the 80 Polish ones.
Brazil and Mexico. In Brazil, ITIL appeared in 5 of the 17 administrador de sistemas ads in October 2026. In Mexico, it appeared in none of the 19 such ads.
What the count misses
The search reads job titles: a total counts the ads with every word of the local title in the job title, such as system administrator. Variants like systems administrator may be partly missed, and an ad called Linux engineer, infrastructure engineer or Windows server administrator is outside the totals, even when the work is the same. The figures describe ads that use the title, not every sysadmin job.
The two phrases have limits of their own. itil also matches ads that ask for knowledge of ITIL processes rather than the certificate. azure certification catches only that wording: an ad that asks for "AZ-104" or "Azure Administrator" without the phrase is missed, so the Azure figure is more likely too low than too high. We count AZ-104 by its exam code in cloud-engineer ads, not in system-administrator ads: in October 2026 it appeared in 105 of the 7,726 US cloud-engineer ads. None of the counts tells a required credential from a preferred one.
Which skills do sysadmin certifications test?
Our count for this title covers the two credential phrases and no list of skills, so we will not give a skills ranking. The exam objectives are the next best guide, because each vendor publishes what its exam checks.
Red Hat's RHCSA tests tasks on a live system: managing files, writing shell scripts, configuring storage and file systems, deploying software, managing users, and setting up networking, the firewall and SELinux. Microsoft's AZ-802 covers Active Directory Domain Services, Windows Server in hybrid setups, virtual machines and containers, networking, storage, security, high availability, disaster recovery, and monitoring. AZ-104 splits its score across identities and governance (20% to 25%), storage (15% to 20%), compute (20% to 25%), virtual networking (15% to 20%), and monitoring and maintenance (10% to 15%).
Read side by side, the lists share a core: users and permissions, storage, networking, security, and keeping systems running. PowerShell for Windows and Azure, and shell scripting for Linux, run through all of them. For practice, build two virtual machines at home, join them to a directory, break something on purpose and restore it from backup. A lab like that gives you something to describe in an interview; a certificate number alone does not.
Show the numbers
| Item | ITIL |
|---|---|
| Questions | 40 questions |
| Exam time | 60 minutes (1 h) |
| Passing score | 65% |
| Format | Multiple choice |
| Languages | 12 languages |
System administrator certification path: from IT support to sysadmin to cloud
The experience the vendors recommend gives a realistic order: every admin exam on this page is written for people who have already worked on systems.
Step 1: a support job. The route we describe starts at the help desk or service desk, where you reset accounts, fix workstations and learn how tickets and changes work. CompTIA's credential for that work is A+: two exams at $274 each, with no prerequisite. Our page on IT-support certifications shows what help-desk ads name in each country.
Step 2: a first admin credential, plus networking. Once you have worked with servers for a while (Linux+ recommends 12 months), pick the platform exam for your servers: Linux+ or the RHCSA for Linux, AZ-802 for Windows Server. If your support job gives you no server access, a home lab like the one in our section on the skills sysadmin exams test is a way to gain that experience. Networks are part of the job too, and our page on network-engineer certifications covers that direction. CompTIA Network+ ($399) recommends A+ and 9 to 12 months as a junior network administrator first. Cisco's CCNA costs $300 and lasts 120 minutes; Cisco lists no prerequisite, which does not make it an entry-level exam. Our CCNA certification page covers its cost and study time. Scripting fits at this stage too. Google IT Automation with Python, a Coursera certificate of seven courses (about six months at 10 hours a week, $49 a month in the US), needs no programming knowledge to start.
On a budget of about $500, one platform exam fits: Linux+ at $399, AZ-802 or AZ-104 (Microsoft says Associate exams typically cost $165, priced by country), with room for AZ-900 ($99) before AZ-104, or the AWS CloudOps exam at $150. ITIL 4 Foundation's $690 exam bundle does not fit, so leave it for an employer to fund.
Step 3: the cloud. AZ-104 and the AWS CloudOps exam are administration exams for cloud platforms, and both expect experience running systems. CompTIA's Cloud+ goes further and recommends two to three years as a systems administrator or cloud engineer. AWS renamed its SysOps Administrator exam, and the last day for SOA-C02 was September 29, 2025. The credential is now AWS Certified CloudOps Engineer – Associate (SOA-C03, 65 questions, 130 minutes, valid for three years). Our AWS figure comes from cloud-engineer ads: in October 2026, the phrase aws certified appeared in 297 of the 7,726 US cloud-engineer ads. Our cloud-engineer page covers what cloud-engineer ads name, AWS against Azure.
Skipping a step is possible, and the exams do not require one another. In our reading, though, this order matches what each vendor says its candidates should already know.
System administrator certifications for beginners
No sysadmin exam is written for complete beginners. Each one recommends months or years of hands-on work, so an entry-level system administrator certification in the strict sense does not exist. For someone with no IT job yet, the beginner route is A+ and a support role, followed by the platform exam.
If you want a first look at cloud administration before that, Azure Fundamentals (AZ-900) costs $99 on Microsoft's exam page and lasts 45 minutes. It shows a recruiter that you know the cloud vocabulary; it does not show that you can run servers.
Is a system administrator certification worth it?
A system administrator certification is worth it when it proves a platform skill you cannot yet show through your work history, or when it moves you from support into administration. Prices and validity periods differ from one vendor to the next.
| Credential | Exam price (US) | Exam format | Valid for |
|---|---|---|---|
| CompTIA Linux+ | $399 | Up to 90 questions, 90 minutes | 3 years ($150 and 50 CEUs to renew) |
| RHCSA (EX200) | Not shown on Red Hat's exam page | Hands-on tasks on a live system | Not stated on Red Hat's exam page |
| Windows Server Hybrid Administrator (AZ-802) | Set by country | 120 minutes, English only | 1 year, free renewal assessment |
| Azure Administrator (AZ-104) | Set by country (Associate exams typically $165) | 100 minutes, 700 to pass | 1 year, free renewal assessment |
| AWS CloudOps Engineer – Associate (SOA-C03) | $150 | 65 questions, 130 minutes | 3 years |
| CompTIA Cloud+ | $399 | Up to 90 questions, 90 minutes | 3 years ($150 and 50 CEUs to renew) |
| ITIL 4 Foundation | $690 exam bundle | 40 questions, 60 minutes, closed book | 3 years (renew with 60 continuing professional development points plus PeopleCert Plus at $133 a year, or by passing another ITIL exam) |
Source: vendor pages listed under Sources, checked October 3 to 5, 2026.
Our reading on cost: the Microsoft Associate certifications cost less to keep, because renewal is free, but they must be renewed every year (Azure Fundamentals does not expire). The CompTIA certifications last three years and cost $150 to renew. ITIL renewal by points also needs a PeopleCert Plus membership at $133 a year. ITIL's $690 exam bundle is the highest US price listed, and the exam tests no technical skill, so pay for it yourself only when the ads you answer name it, and ask an employer whether it will pay first. PeopleCert also plans to retire all ITIL 4 modules on December 31, 2027, so check which ITIL Foundation version is on sale before you buy. PeopleCert says ITIL 4 certifications stay valid as prerequisites for the higher levels of ITIL (Version 5).
Do system administrators need certifications?
Not to do the job. In October 2026, ITIL appeared in 84 of the 2,921 German Systemadministrator ads and 43 of the 270 Indian system-administrator ads (Adzuna); the rest of those ads did not name it. In our reading, a certification matters most at a change of level: from support into a first admin job, or from on-premises servers into the cloud. Once you hold an admin job, the systems you have run are easier for an employer to check than a list of exams. If your gap is a degree rather than a credential, our guide to becoming a system administrator without a degree covers that route.
Best certifications for system administrators: what Reddit posters ask
We looked at the questions in the Reddit posts we collected about sysadmin and cloud-admin exams. Posters are a self-selected group, so this shows what people ask, not how many hold a view.
- Whether AZ-104 and the CCNA make a good combination (r/AWSCertifications, September 2026). Our answer: they cover different layers. The CCNA is about networks, and AZ-104 is about running Azure, with virtual networking worth 15% to 20% of its score. Take first the one that matches the servers and networks your employer runs.
- Whether the CCNA or AZ-104 gives a better chance at a fully remote job within 12 months, asked on the same day in r/sysadmin, September 2026, r/ccna and r/ITCareerQuestions. Our count does not record whether a job is remote, so we cannot answer from data.
- Whether AZ-104 can be passed in five weeks (r/AzureCertification, July 2026). People who posted how long they studied for it report a median of 5.5 weeks, from 2 to about 26 weeks across 21 reports.
- Whether to take Linux+, CySA+ or an ethical-hacking course next (r/CompTIA, September 2026). Linux+ is the admin exam of the three; CySA+ and ethical hacking lead toward security work.
- Whether to take the AWS Solutions Architect or the CloudOps Engineer exam (r/AWSCertifications, July 2026). For operations work, CloudOps is the exam whose title matches the job; both cost $150.
- Whether Cloud+ is worth taking (r/CompTIA, August 2026). CompTIA aims it at people with two to three years as a sysadmin or cloud engineer, so it fits after the platform exam, not before.
Related roles and where to go next
All the credentials and roles in this area are on our field page for IT support and networking. For the certificates themselves, see our pages on the Azure certification program, ITIL, Linux+, Cloud+, Google IT Automation with Python and the AWS CloudOps exam. The neighboring jobs have their own pages: certifications for network engineers, cloud-engineer certifications, and help-desk and IT-support certifications.
Sources
- Adzuna job-ad counts, system-administrator ads in 10 countries, October 2026; AZ-104 and AWS figures from cloud-engineer ads; analysis: CertWorthIt. How we count.
- CompTIA, Linux+, Cloud+, Network+, A+ and renewal fees, checked October 3, 2026.
- Red Hat, RHCSA certification and EX200 exam, read October 5, 2026.
- Microsoft Learn, Windows Server Hybrid Administrator Associate, Information Protection and Compliance Administrator Associate (retired) and Information Security Administrator Associate, read October 5, 2026; Azure Administrator Associate, AZ-104 study guide, Azure Fundamentals and certification FAQ, checked October 3, 2026.
- AWS, CloudOps Engineer – Associate and SysOps Administrator – Associate, checked October 3, 2026.
- PeopleCert, ITIL 4 Foundation and ITIL FAQ, checked October 5, 2026.
- Cisco, CCNA, checked October 3, 2026.
- Coursera, Google IT Automation with Python, checked October 3, 2026.
- Reddit threads linked in the text, from the posts we collected.
Edited by Elena Marsh · Data checked October 5, 2026
Questions people ask
Is being a sysadmin a dead-end job?
Our one-month count cannot show where the job is heading, so we make no claim about demand. What the vendors write is clear, though: CompTIA recommends two to three years as a systems administrator or cloud engineer before Cloud+, and Microsoft expects AZ-104 candidates to know operating systems, networking, servers and virtualization. Those cloud exams build on sysadmin experience. Our cloud-engineer page covers that next step.
Are sysadmins well paid?
We have not verified a pay figure for this page, so we give none. None of our sources measures how much a certification adds to pay as distinct from experience and location. What our data does show is which credentials sysadmin ads name in each country.
How much does the SC-400 exam cost?
You can no longer buy it. Microsoft retired the Information Protection and Compliance Administrator Associate certification (exam SC-400) and its renewal assessment on May 30, 2025. Microsoft's current certification for this work is Information Security Administrator Associate (exam SC-401, 100 minutes). Microsoft prices it by country; its FAQ says Associate exams typically cost $165.
Do you need a certification to be a system administrator?
No. In October 2026, ITIL appeared in 7.8% of the 6,233 US system-administrator ads we counted, and the rest did not name it. A certification helps when it proves a platform skill you cannot yet show through work, such as Linux or Windows Server administration.
Is there an entry-level system administrator certification?
Not in the strict sense. The admin exams all recommend experience first: Linux+ suggests 12 months with Linux servers, and Microsoft expects several years with Windows Server for the Windows Server Hybrid Administrator exam. The usual entry route is a support job first, with CompTIA A+ ($274 per exam, two exams, no prerequisite). Our IT-support page covers that step.
Which certification should a system administrator take first?
The one for the platform your servers run. For Linux, CompTIA Linux+ ($399) or Red Hat's RHCSA, a hands-on exam. For Windows Server, Microsoft's Windows Server Hybrid Administrator Associate (exam AZ-802). For Azure, AZ-104. Add ITIL 4 Foundation when your employer runs formal change management.