Is Linux+ worth it for a system-administrator job?
1.5% of system administrator job ads in the United States name the CompTIA Linux+ (94 of 6,233, Adzuna, October 2026)
The answer to "is Linux+ worth it" is yes for a US system-administrator job when the ads you target name the certification. In October 2026, the phrase comptia linux appeared in 1.5% of the ads for US system administrators (94 of the 6,233) on Adzuna, a job-ad search site. The exam costs $399.
CompTIA Linux+ is a Linux administration certification from CompTIA, an IT industry body that sets certification exams. You earn it by passing one exam, XK0-006, which CompTIA launched on July 15, 2025. Linux is an operating system that comes in several versions called distributions (distros), such as Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL). A system administrator (sysadmin) sets up servers and keeps them running.
Verdict by situation:
- Already in IT support or a junior admin job with Linux servers in your work: take Linux+ if the sysadmin ads you apply for name it, or if you want a structured way to prove your Linux basics.
- Aiming at jobs on Red Hat Enterprise Linux: look at Red Hat's RHCSA as well, a hands-on exam built on real-world tasks. The Linux+ vs RHCSA section sets out the differences.
- No IT background at all: CompTIA's recommended year with Linux servers assumes a job you do not have yet, so start with CompTIA A+ and a support role, and practice Linux at home.
- Heading for cloud or DevOps work (DevOps engineers build and run the systems that ship software): Linux skills carry over. Read 20 cloud-engineer or DevOps ads, and if they name Linux, build a home lab first. Our DevOps-engineer page shows which credentials those ads name, and our AZ-104 page covers Microsoft's Azure administrator exam.
- Outside the US: check our counts for Germany, France, India and the UK in the section on other countries, then read 20 local ads before you pay.
Jump to: US job ads · exam · cost · Linux+ vs RHCSA · salary
Show the numbers
| Item | Ads | Share of ads |
|---|---|---|
| Linux | 2,748 | 44% |
| Active Directory | 1,986 | 32% |
| Powershell | 1,541 | 25% |
| ITIL | 489 | 7.8% |
| CompTIA Linux+ | 94 | 1.5% |
| AZ-104 | 78 | 1.3% |
| Microsoft Azure certifications | 35 | 35 of 6,233 |
| AWS SysOps / CloudOps Associate | 35 | 35 of 6,233 |
| CompTIA Cloud+ | 19 | 19 of 6,233 |
Is CompTIA Linux+ worth it for you?
Instant answer from October 2026 job ads. No email needed.
Rarely named
1.5% of system administrator job ads in the United States name CompTIA Linux+ (94 of 6,233 ads).
- Most-named alternative
- ITIL 7.8%
- Skill asked for most
- Linux 44%
- Official exam fee
- $399 source
Source: Adzuna job ads, October 2026.
Get your full report
Two optional questions shape your first step. No email needed.
On this page
- Is CompTIA Linux+ worth it for a US sysadmin job?
- Do employers outside the US ask for Linux+?
- How hard is CompTIA Linux+?
- How much does CompTIA Linux+ cost?
- Linux+ vs RHCSA: which one should you take?
- What is the CompTIA Linux+ salary?
- Is Linux+ worth it, or should you just learn Linux?
- Is Linux+ worth it? What Reddit posters say
- What should you do first?
- What we did not check
- Sources
Is CompTIA Linux+ worth it for a US sysadmin job?
It is worth it when a job ad you want names it, and as a way to show Linux skills you cannot yet prove through work. Our count shows how often the certification appears in US system-administrator ads; it does not show who gets hired.
We search US ads titled system administrator for the phrase comptia linux. Adzuna matches the phrase approximately, so we cannot list exactly which spellings it catches. An ad that writes only Linux+ or Linux Plus is probably missed, so read each count as a rough figure for ads that name CompTIA Linux. We count Linux+ against this one job title only. In the same ads, we also count the word linux on its own, as a skill. Both figures are in the table, from the same 6,233 US system-administrator ads collected in October 2026.
| What we searched for in US system-administrator ads (October 2026) | Share of the 6,233 ads |
|---|---|
The phrase comptia linux (the certification) |
1.5% |
The word linux (the skill) |
44% |
Source: Adzuna API, US job ads with system administrator in the title, collected in October 2026. Analysis: CertWorthIt.
An ad that matches comptia linux should also match linux, so the skill row should include the certification ads. Neither count separates required from preferred: an ad that lists Linux+ as one option among several counts the same as one that demands it. Our methodology page explains how we collect the ads, and our system-administrator page shows the other credentials these ads name.
Our reading: build the Linux skills first, and buy the exam when an ad you want names it or when you need proof of those skills on your resume.
Do employers outside the US ask for Linux+?
Our figures outside the US are context, not advice: we give no country advice from them. In October 2026, comptia linux appeared in one of the 2,921 German ads titled Systemadministrator, in none of the 845 French ads titled administrateur système and in none of the 270 Indian system-administrator ads (Adzuna).
We search for the English phrase in every country. A German or French ad that names the certification in other words is missed, so for those two countries the counts probably understate how often employers name it.
In the UK, the phrase appeared in none of the 150 system-administrator ads in October 2026, a small sample, so read it with care.
Show the numbers
| Country | CompTIA Linux+ | Ads | Share of ads |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 94 | 6,233 | 1.5% |
| Germany | 1 | 2,921 | 1 of 2,921 |
| Spain | 0 | 68 | 0 of 68 |
| France | 0 | 845 | 0 of 845 |
| United Kingdom | 0 | 150 | 0 of 150 |
| India | 0 | 270 | 0 of 270 |
How hard is CompTIA Linux+?
CompTIA Linux+ is not a first IT exam: CompTIA recommends a year of hands-on Linux server work before it. The exam mixes multiple-choice questions with performance-based questions, which are short tasks you carry out instead of answers you pick. CompTIA's pages we read give no pass rate, so we cannot say how many people pass on the first try.
| Exam fact | XK0-006 |
|---|---|
| Questions | Up to 90, multiple-choice and performance-based |
| Time | 90 minutes |
| Passing score | 720 on a scale of 100 to 900 |
| Language | English |
| Launch date | July 15, 2025 |
| Recommended experience (not required) | 12 months of hands-on work with Linux servers; CompTIA A+, Network+ or Server+, or comparable knowledge |
Source: CompTIA, Linux+ certification page, checked October 12, 2026.
The recommended certifications are CompTIA's own: A+ covers IT support, Network+ covers networking, and Server+ covers servers. None of them is a formal prerequisite, so you can book Linux+ without them.
One poster on r/CompTIA (a Reddit forum for CompTIA exams) asked which resources people had used for Linux+ (r/CompTIA). We have not tested any course or book, so we name none. Two checks help. First, a course or book should name the current exam code, XK0-006. Second, a home lab (a practice setup on your own computer) with one or two Linux virtual machines (Linux installs that run inside a window on your PC) lets you practice the tasks the performance-based questions ask for.
Show the numbers
| Item | CompTIA Linux+ |
|---|---|
| Questions | 90 questions |
| Exam time | 90 minutes (1 h 30 min) |
| Passing score | 720 (scale 100–900) |
| Format | Multiple choice, performance-based tasks |
| Languages | 1 language |
Which exam version should you study for?
Study for XK0-006, the version CompTIA launched on July 15, 2025. CompTIA's Linux+ page says an exam version usually retires three years after launch and estimates 2028 for this one. Check that page for a successor before you buy study material.
How much does CompTIA Linux+ cost?
A Linux+ exam voucher, the prepaid code you use to book one exam attempt, costs $399 at CompTIA's US store. Keeping the certification active for three years through continuing education (CE) adds a $150 CE fee, so the basic three-year cost is $549.
| Item | US price (CompTIA) |
|---|---|
| Exam voucher, XK0-006 | $399 |
| Voucher with Retake Assurance | $519 |
| CE fee for the three-year renewal cycle, plus 50 CEUs | $150 |
| One voucher plus the CE fee, over three years | $399 × 1 + $150 = $549 |
| Retake Assurance voucher plus the CE fee, over three years | $519 × 1 + $150 = $669 |
Source: CompTIA US store, Linux+ voucher prices read October 3, 2026; CompTIA CE fee and CEU pages, checked October 12, 2026.
Retake Assurance is a voucher that includes a retake if you fail; check CompTIA's terms for the conditions. You buy it instead of the plain voucher, not on top of it. CEUs (continuing education units) are credits you earn through training and other learning, and you need 50 of them within the three years. The $150 CE fee is due only when you renew through CEUs. CompTIA also lists routes without that fee: pass the latest version of the exam, earn a higher-level CompTIA certification, or complete a CertMaster CE course, its own renewal course, which is priced separately. Check CompTIA's CE pages for which apply to you.
We read only the US store, and training is optional and priced by each provider, so the totals above leave out courses and books.
Show the numbers
| Item | Fee |
|---|---|
| Fees to get certified: Exam | $399 |
| Fees to get certified: Renewal, every 3 years | $150 |
Linux+ vs RHCSA: which one should you take?
Take the RHCSA if the jobs you want run Red Hat Enterprise Linux and the ads name Red Hat; take Linux+ if the ads name CompTIA Linux+. The RHCSA (Red Hat Certified System Administrator, exam EX200) is a practical exam in which you carry out real-world tasks, according to Red Hat, while Linux+ mixes multiple-choice and performance-based questions.
| CompTIA Linux+ | Red Hat RHCSA | LPI LPIC-1 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exams | One (XK0-006) | One (EX200) | Two (101-500 and 102-500) |
| Format | Up to 90 multiple-choice and performance-based questions | Hands-on, real-world tasks, no internet access | 60 multiple-choice and fill-in-the-blank questions per exam |
| Time | 90 minutes | Not stated on the Red Hat page we read | 90 minutes per exam |
| US fee | $399 | Not stated on the Red Hat page we read | $200 per exam, $400 for both |
| Valid for | 3 years | Not stated on the Red Hat page we read | 5 years |
| Prerequisite | None; 12 months with Linux servers recommended | No formal prerequisite stated; Red Hat says candidates should have completed RH124 and RH134 (or RH199) or have comparable RHEL experience | None |
Source: CompTIA Linux+ page and US store; Red Hat EX200 exam page; LPI LPIC-1 page and US exam prices. All read in October 2026.
Red Hat's exam page does not state the RHCSA's price, length or validity, so check them on Red Hat's EX200 page before you budget. RH124 and RH134 are Red Hat's two system administration courses, and RH199 is its rapid-track course. Red Hat's exam page says candidates should have completed RH124 and RH134, or RH199, or have comparable work experience on RHEL; it does not state a formal prerequisite.
The RHCSA is built around RHEL, Red Hat's own distro. If your target employers run Ubuntu or a mix of distros, check whether their ads name Red Hat before you choose it.
Show the numbers
| Country | CompTIA Linux+ | ITIL |
|---|---|---|
| India | 0 of 270 | 16% |
| United States | 1.5% | 7.8% |
| France | 0 of 845 | 6% |
| United Kingdom | 0 of 150 | 5% |
| Germany | 1 of 2,921 | 2.9% |
| Spain | 0 of 68 | 0 of 68 |
Linux+ vs LPIC-1: what is different?
LPIC-1 is the first-level certification of the Linux Professional Institute (LPI), which calls itself vendor-neutral (not tied to one company's Linux). It takes two exams of 90 minutes each, costs $400 in the US for both, and stays valid for five years, according to LPI's pages read in October 2026. Linux+ takes one exam at $399 and runs on CompTIA's three-year renewal cycle. We do not count LPIC-1 or the RHCSA in job ads, so we cannot tell you how often US employers name either one.
What is the CompTIA Linux+ salary?
We give no Linux+ salary, because no source we accept measures what holders earn or what the certification adds to pay. CertWorthIt measures no salary premium for Linux+.
The US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), the federal agency for labor data, gives a median annual wage of $99,130 for network and computer systems administrators in May 2025. A median means half earned more and half less. The figure covers every admin in that occupation, with or without Linux+, so it describes the job, not the certificate. The same BLS page projects employment in this occupation to decline 4% from 2025 to 2035, with about 13,400 openings a year, and says the job typically needs a bachelor's degree in a computer-related field.
Is Linux+ worth it, or should you just learn Linux?
Learn Linux either way; the exam is a way to prove it. In October 2026, the word linux appeared in 44% of the ads for US system administrators, and the certification search comptia linux in 94 of the 6,233 of the same ads (Adzuna).
A poster on r/ccnp asked whether the CCNP (Cisco's professional-level networking certification) or extra Linux skills, such as CompTIA Linux+, would help them stand out for a first IT job (r/ccnp). Our count covers sysadmin ads, not network-engineer ads, so it cannot answer for networking jobs. For any target job, the check is the same: read 20 ads and note whether they name Linux, Linux+ or neither.
For free practice, one commenter in an r/cybersecurity thread suggested a free RHEL developer subscription and working through the RHCSA and RHCE curriculum (r/cybersecurity). RHCE (Red Hat Certified Engineer) is Red Hat's next level after the RHCSA. That is one poster's tip; check Red Hat's current terms for the subscription.
Show the numbers
| Item | |
|---|---|
| 1. Exam | 90 questions, 90 minutes |
| 2. Certified | valid for 3 years |
| 3. Renewal | 50 CEUs every 3 years |
Is Linux+ worth it? What Reddit posters say
Both comments quoted below rank Red Hat's exams above CompTIA's for admin work. They are opinions from a self-selected group of posters, not a survey.
In an r/CompTIA thread about a revoked certification, one commenter wrote: "nobody respects Comptia certifications. AWS, Azure, RHCSA are the real deal" (r/CompTIA); AWS and Azure are Amazon's and Microsoft's cloud platforms. In a thread asking whether A+ is easy for people already in IT, another advised working sysadmins to "skip the helpdesk certs" and focus on the RHCSA and RHCE (r/CompTIA). That advice is aimed at people who already work as sysadmins; if you are new to IT, the verdict list at the top of this page still starts with A+.
Our count speaks to these views only in part: in October 2026, comptia linux appeared in 94 of the 6,233 US system-administrator ads (Adzuna), and we do not count the RHCSA, so we cannot compare the two.
What should you do first?
Read 20 US system-administrator ads for the kind of job you want and note which credentials they name: CompTIA Linux+, Red Hat, or only Linux skills. If you do not know what job you want yet, search a job site for "Linux administrator" or "system administrator" in your area and read 20 of those. Then:
- If you have no Linux server experience, build a home lab with one or two Linux virtual machines (free distros such as Ubuntu work) and practice user, storage and network tasks.
- If the ads name CompTIA Linux+, study for XK0-006 and buy the $399 voucher when your practice scores are steady.
- If the ads name Red Hat, check the RHCSA's current price and format on Red Hat's EX200 page.
- If you move toward security later, our Security+ page covers CompTIA's security exam.
Show the numbers
| Level | Certification | Experience | Named first |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry | CCNP | no work experience required | – |
| Entry | CCNA | no work experience required | – |
| Entry | Google IT Support | no work experience required | – |
| Associate | CompTIA Network+ | recommended: 9 months of work experience | – |
| Associate | CompTIA A+ | recommended: 1 year of work experience | – |
| Associate | CompTIA Linux+ | recommended: 1 year of work experience | CompTIA A+ |
| Associate | Google IT Automation with Python | named after Google IT Support by the vendor | Google IT Support |
What we did not check
- The RHCSA's price, length and validity: Red Hat's pages we read do not state them.
- How often job ads name the RHCSA or LPIC-1: we do not count either.
- Pass rates and study time for Linux+: CompTIA gives no pass rate, and too few Reddit posters reported their study time.
- The price of CertMaster CE, and prices outside the US store.
- Whether an ad requires or only prefers the certification.
Sources
- CompTIA, Linux+ certification page: exam code, launch date, retirement estimate, questions, time, passing score, language and recommended experience, checked October 12, 2026; US voucher prices ($399, $519 with Retake Assurance) read in the store on October 3, 2026.
- CompTIA, earn continuing education units and CE renewal fees, checked October 12, 2026.
- Red Hat, EX200 RHCSA exam page: format and recommended courses, read October 12, 2026.
- Linux Professional Institute, LPIC-1 overview and exam pricing, read October 12, 2026.
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: network and computer systems administrators, median wage for May 2025, 2025–2035 employment projection, openings and typical education, read October 12, 2026.
- Adzuna job-ad counts: system-administrator ads in the US, Germany, France, India and the UK, October 2026; analysis: CertWorthIt. How we count.
- Reddit posts and comments on r/CompTIA, r/ccnp and r/cybersecurity, linked in the text, read October 12, 2026.
Questions people ask
Is CompTIA Linux+ worth it, according to Reddit?
The Reddit comments we quote on CompTIA Linux+ rank Red Hat's exams above CompTIA's, and they are opinions, not a survey. In a thread on r/CompTIA, a CompTIA discussion forum on Reddit, one commenter wrote that "nobody respects Comptia certifications" and named AWS and Azure (Amazon's and Microsoft's cloud platforms) and the RHCSA (Red Hat's hands-on Linux exam) instead. Our own count is narrower: in October 2026, CompTIA Linux+ (searched as comptia linux) appeared in 94 of the 6,233 US system-administrator ads on Adzuna, a job-ad search site. Read the ads for the jobs you want before you pay the $399 exam fee.
How long does it take to get CompTIA Linux+?
We have no reliable study-time figure for CompTIA Linux+: CompTIA's pages give none, and too few Reddit posters reported their study time for us to quote one. What CompTIA does say, on its Linux+ page read in October 2026, is that it recommends 12 months of hands-on work with Linux servers before the exam. The exam itself, XK0-006, lasts 90 minutes and has up to 90 questions. Compare what you have done on Linux servers with that 12-month recommendation and practice the missing tasks.
What is the Linux+ salary?
No source we accept gives a salary for CompTIA Linux+ holders, and CertWorthIt measures no pay premium for the certification. The closest official figure is for the whole occupation: the US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) gives a median annual wage of $99,130 for network and computer systems administrators in May 2025, meaning half earned more and half less. That figure covers every admin in the occupation, with or without Linux+. The same BLS page projects employment in this occupation to decline 4% from 2025 to 2035, with about 13,400 openings a year.
How much does CompTIA Linux+ cost?
In the US, a CompTIA Linux+ exam voucher (a prepaid code for one exam attempt) costs $399 at CompTIA's store, read in October 2026, or $519 with Retake Assurance, a voucher that includes a retake if you fail. Keeping the certification for three years through continuing education adds a $150 CE fee plus 50 continuing education units (CEUs). One voucher plus that fee comes to $549 over three years.
Does CompTIA Linux+ expire?
Yes. CompTIA Linux+ is valid for three years, according to CompTIA's continuing education pages read in October 2026. To renew it, CompTIA asks for 50 continuing education units (CEUs, credits for training and other learning) within the three-year cycle plus a $150 CE fee. CompTIA also lists routes without that fee: pass the latest version of the exam, earn a higher-level CompTIA certification, or complete a CertMaster CE course, CompTIA's own renewal course, priced separately.