AZ-104 vs AZ-204: which Azure certification can you still take?

Job-ad data: October 2026 · Editor: · Updated

Get this report by email

In the AZ-104 vs AZ-204 choice, take AZ-104, the administrator exam for Microsoft's Azure cloud: Microsoft retired AZ-204, its developer exam, on July 31, 2026. If you write code, Microsoft's current developer-role certification is AI-200, a narrower AI and back-end exam. Of 7,726 US cloud-engineer ads in October 2026, 105 named az-104 and 4 named az-204.

AZ-104 is the exam for Microsoft Certified: Azure Administrator Associate, for people who set up and run an organization's systems on Azure, which rents out servers, storage and networks over the internet. AZ-204 was the exam for Microsoft Certified: Azure Developer Associate, for people who write software that runs on Azure. Microsoft's names for these certifications include a level word, Associate, and Microsoft's pages label both of them Intermediate.

Which to take · Already studied AZ-204 · Exams · Cost · Job ads

AZ-104 vs AZ-204: share of cloud engineer job ads naming each
AZ-104 is named more often than AZ-204 in 6 of 6 countries with enough ads (Poland, the United Kingdom, France, India, the United States, Germany).
Show the numbers
AZ-104 vs AZ-204: share of cloud engineer job ads naming each. Share of job ads that name each item. Source: Adzuna job ads, October 2026.
CountryAZ-104AZ-204
Poland5%0 of 332
United Kingdom3%0 of 475
France3%0 of 340
Italy2%0 of 121
India1.5%2 of 1,150
United States1.4%4 of 7,726
Germany2 of 1,1600 of 1,160

AZ-104 or AZ-204: which do employers name more?

Instant answer from October 2026 job ads. No email needed.

Country

AZ-104 is named in more job ads in the United States.

  1. AZ-104105 of 7,726 ads1.4%
  2. AZ-2044 of 7,726 ads0.1% (4 ads)

Source: Adzuna job ads, October 2026.

Get your full report

Two optional questions shape your first step. No email needed.

Your experience
Your goal

Get this report by email

Inside: AZ-104 and AZ-204 side by side, by share of job ads naming each.

Email me my AZ-104 vs AZ-204 report for the United States. One email, sent once.

We use AI to analyse the job-ad data and write your report. The counts come from Adzuna job ads; figures and sources are checked automatically.

How we use your email: privacy policy

On this page
  1. Which should you take now, AZ-104 or AZ-204?
  2. What if you already have or studied for AZ-204?
  3. How do the AZ-104 and AZ-204 exams compare?
  4. How much does AZ-104 cost, and is renewal free?
  5. AZ-104 vs AZ-204 in job ads: what did cloud-engineer ads name?
  6. What we did not check
  7. Sources

Which should you take now, AZ-104 or AZ-204?

AZ-104 is the one of the two you can still take, because Microsoft retired AZ-204. Microsoft's credential-retirement page lists Azure Developer Associate among recently retired certifications and says a retired certification is no longer available in its certification offerings (Microsoft Learn, read October 2026).

  • You run servers or networks, or want to: take AZ-104. Microsoft describes its candidates as people who implement, manage and monitor an organization's Azure environment. That covers virtual networks, storage, compute (the virtual machines that run software), identity (who may sign in), security and governance (the rules on who may do what, and what it may cost). In our job-ad counts, AZ-104 appears in ads for cloud engineers, who build and run systems on cloud platforms. The system administrator role page covers a related job, running a company's servers.
  • You write code and want a Microsoft developer certification: look at Azure AI Cloud Developer Associate (exam AI-200), Microsoft's current developer-role Azure certification. It is narrower than AZ-204 was: Microsoft describes AI solutions with a focus on back-end services. The pages we read show no like-for-like general Azure developer exam, and they do not present AI-200 as a renamed AZ-204. Its page has its own topic list.
  • You are new to IT: Microsoft's AZ-104 page says "You should be familiar with" operating systems, networking, servers and virtualization. It does not word this as a formal prerequisite. Our AZ-104 vs AZ-900 comparison looks at whether to start with the entry-level exam first.
  • You are not sure which side you want: AZ-104 is the one you can earn. Microsoft's page says its candidates often work in a larger team and coordinate with application developers.
  • You already hold AZ-204 or studied for it: see what holders keep.

A first step that works even with no target job: sign in to Microsoft Learn, Microsoft's free training and certification site, and take the AZ-104 practice assessment. It is a set of free sample questions, and Microsoft's FAQ says you can take it as many times as you want. If the questions feel manageable, read the AZ-104 study guide and our AZ-104 page. If the questions on networks and user accounts feel far from what you want to do, read Microsoft's AI-200 page (Azure AI Cloud Developer Associate, linked in the sources) next.

What if you already have or studied for AZ-204?

If you earned or renewed Azure Developer Associate before its retirement, Microsoft says it stays in the Active Certifications section of your transcript (your record of Microsoft credentials) until it expires. Then it moves to Historical (the part of your transcript for credentials that are no longer current). Its renewal assessment, the free online test that normally keeps a certification active for another year, is retired too. The pages we read say nothing more about existing holders.

If you studied for AZ-204 but did not pass it in time, you can no longer take that exam. Our reading, based only on Microsoft's topic names: part of that study carries over to AI-200, because both lists include connecting to and consuming Azure services, and both cover securing and monitoring Azure solutions. Compare the skill areas of each exam before you plan.

Two more points for holders:

  • The DevOps route: DevOps means the work of joining software development to running systems. Microsoft's DevOps Engineer Expert page (exam AZ-400; Expert is the tier above Associate) says you must earn at least one of Azure Administrator Associate or Azure Developer Associate. That page was last updated before the AZ-204 retirement and does not say whether an AZ-204 earned earlier still counts. Our reading: a new candidate reaches it through AZ-104.
  • Old study plans: posters on a Reddit forum asked whether to do AZ-204 or AZ-104. Since the retirement, AZ-104 is the one of the two you can still take. When we read Microsoft's AI-200 page, it said a practice assessment was not currently available.

How do the AZ-104 and AZ-204 exams compare?

AZ-104 tests running Azure; AZ-204 tested building software for it. Both are proctored, which means a supervisor watches you take the exam, and both pages say you may meet interactive components, which means tasks beyond plain multiple choice that Microsoft does not describe further.

AZ-104 AZ-204 (retired) AI-200
Certification Microsoft Certified: Azure Administrator Associate Microsoft Certified: Azure Developer Associate Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Cloud Developer Associate
Status Current (not retired) Retired July 31, 2026 Current (not retired)
Microsoft's level Intermediate Intermediate Intermediate
Who it is for Runs an Azure environment Developers across all phases of development Builds AI solutions, back-end focus
What Microsoft says you should bring Operating systems, networking, servers, virtualization; PowerShell, Azure CLI 2+ years of programming; Azure SDKs, Azure CLI Azure SDKs, Python, vector databases, containerized apps
Exam time 100 minutes Not stated on pages we read 120 minutes
Exam languages 10 10 13
Passing score 700 or greater Not stated on pages we read Not stated on pages we read
Renewal Every 12 months, free Renewal assessment retired Not stated on pages we read

Source: Microsoft Learn certification pages and the AZ-104 study guide.

In the table, virtualization means running several virtual computers on one physical machine. PowerShell is a Microsoft scripting tool, and the Azure CLI (command-line interface) is a tool where you type commands to manage Azure.

An SDK (software development kit) is a set of code libraries a programmer uses to call Azure from an app. A vector database stores data in a form that lets AI apps find similar items, and a containerized app is packaged with everything it needs to run, so it can move between machines. Microsoft does not call either "should" list a formal requirement.

What does each exam test?

Exam Skill areas
AZ-104 (skills as of April 17, 2026) Manage Azure identities and governance 20–25%; Implement and manage storage 15–20%; Deploy and manage Azure compute resources 20–25%; Implement and manage virtual networking 15–20%; Monitor and maintain Azure resources 10–15%
AZ-204 (retired) Develop Azure compute solutions; Develop for Azure storage; Implement Azure security; Monitor, troubleshoot, and optimize Azure solutions; Connect to and consume Azure services and third-party services
AI-200 Develop containerized solutions on Azure; Develop AI solutions by using Azure data management services; Connect to and consume Azure services; Secure, monitor, troubleshoot Azure solutions

Source: Microsoft Learn AZ-104 study guide and the AZ-204 and AI-200 certification pages. The AZ-204 and AI-200 pages we read gave no percentages.

The AZ-104 areas start with manage, implement and deploy: you create user accounts, storage, virtual machines and networks and keep them running. The AZ-204 areas started with develop and implement: you wrote the code that used those services. Our reading: the AI-200 areas are developer work too, and two of them name AI or containerized solutions.

Is AZ-104 or AZ-204 harder?

No source ranks them; both are rated Intermediate, and no source we read gives a pass rate for either exam. The difference is the background each expects. AZ-104 recommends that you know servers and networks; AZ-204 recommended two years of programming.

For AZ-104, people who posted about their preparation on Reddit report a median of 5.5 weeks of study across 21 statements in the posts and comments we collected in 2026; the median is the middle value. Others gave months instead, with a median of two months and the middle half between one and three months (13 statements). Those are different posters, so the two figures are not a contradiction. A poster who asked whether AZ-104 can be passed in five weeks is close to the weeks median. Treat all of this as a rough guide, since posters chose to post.

Posters also asked whether some AZ-104 candidates get labs and others case studies. Microsoft says only that you may have interactive components and 100 minutes; it does not list item types, so plan for more than plain multiple choice. For practice tests, Microsoft's free practice assessment and the AZ-104 study guide are the official starting points; we do not test or rate paid practice tests.

How much does AZ-104 cost, and is renewal free?

Microsoft's certification FAQ says Associate and Expert exams typically cost US$165, priced by the currency of each country or region, with taxes possible. The AZ-104 page shows no figure and says the price depends on the country or region where the exam is proctored. AZ-204 has no price because it cannot be booked, and the AI-200 page shows no figure either.

AZ-104, first try passed, over three years Cost
Exam (typical Microsoft FAQ figure) US$165
Renewal after year 1 $0
Renewal after year 2 $0
Total over three years $165 ($165 + $0 + $0)

Source: Microsoft Learn certification FAQ, AZ-104 page and renewal page. The total is our sum. We use three years because the certification needs renewing every 12 months, so this shows the first two renewals. Prices vary by country; Microsoft's AZ-104 page states the price depends on where you take the exam.

Microsoft does not refund an exam you fail, so one failed attempt and one pass come to $330 (two attempts at $165). After a first failed attempt, the AZ-104 page says you can retake it after 24 hours; waits after later attempts vary, so check the page before you plan.

To renew, you pass a free online assessment on Microsoft Learn during a six-month window before the expiration date. It is unproctored (no one watches you), open book and shorter than the exam, and Microsoft allows unlimited attempts until the certification expires. Passing extends the certification by one year from its expiration date. Our AZ-104 page covers the exam, cost and renewal in more depth.

AZ-104 vs AZ-204 in job ads: what did cloud-engineer ads name?

Adzuna is a job-ad search site. In October 2026, of the 7,726 US cloud-engineer ads we counted there, 105 contained the exact phrase az-104 and 4 contained the exact phrase az-204. Both codes are counted in the same ads, those for cloud engineers.

Country Cloud-engineer ads counted With az-104 With az-204
United States 7,726 105 4
United Kingdom 475 15 0
India 1,150 17 2
France 340 9 0
Poland 332 17 0
Germany 1,160 2 0

Source: Adzuna API, cloud-engineer ads by local job title, collected in October 2026, searched for the exact phrases az-104 and az-204. Analysis: CertWorthIt.

In Germany, az-104 appeared in 2 of the 1,160 cloud-engineer ads and az-204 in none of the 1,160. With so few ads, Germany is shown for reference and not ranked: the counts are too small to compare. Brazil, Mexico, Spain and Italy are left out of the table.

Our reading: for cloud-engineer jobs in the US, the UK, India and Poland, az-104 was the higher of the two counts in October 2026. France and Germany had too few ads naming either code to compare. The counts do not show why an ad names one code or the other. An ad that names the retired code may be old or copied from an older ad, so do not treat the az-204 count as demand for it.

The counts have limits. Only the exam code counts: an ad that writes only the full name, such as Azure Developer Associate, or only the word Azure, is not counted, so read each figure as a minimum. AZ-204 is counted only in cloud-engineer ads, not in software-developer ads, so these figures say nothing about developer jobs. An ad can name both codes, and a count does not show whether the employer requires the exam or lists it as a plus. The methodology page explains how we count.

What cloud engineer job ads name in the United States: certifications and skills
AZ-104 is named in 1.4% of these ads; Terraform leads with 20%.
Show the numbers
What cloud engineer job ads name in the United States: certifications and skills. Share of job ads that name each item. Source: Adzuna job ads, October 2026.
ItemAdsShare of ads
Terraform1,51920%
Kubernetes1,12115%
AWS2973.8%
AWS Solutions Architect Associate2423.1%
Microsoft Azure certifications1782.3%
Google Associate Cloud Engineer1672.2%
AZ-3051171.5%
AZ-1041051.4%
AZ-20444 of 7,726

What we did not check

  • Pay for AZ-104 or AZ-204 holders: not checked.
  • Exam prices in local currencies: not checked.
  • Whether an AZ-204 earned before the retirement still counts toward DevOps Engineer Expert: not checked.
  • The Microsoft Community Hub post linked from the AZ-204 retirement warning: not checked; we did not read its text. We also did not check whether Microsoft names a successor to AZ-204 anywhere other than the pages listed below.
  • How often developer ads name AZ-204 or AI-200: not checked; we do not count them.

Sources

All Microsoft Learn pages below were read on October 12, 2026.

Get this report by email

Inside: AZ-104 and AZ-204 side by side, by share of job ads naming each.

Email me my AZ-104 vs AZ-204 report for the United States. One email, sent once.

We use AI to analyse the job-ad data and write your report. The counts come from Adzuna job ads; figures and sources are checked automatically.

How we use your email: privacy policy

Questions people ask

Can I still take the AZ-204 exam?

No. Microsoft retired Azure Developer Associate, the certification earned with exam AZ-204, on July 31, 2026, and its renewal assessment (the free yearly online test that keeps a certification active) is retired too. Microsoft's retirement page says a retired certification is no longer available in its certification offerings, so a new candidate cannot earn it. Both statements are on Microsoft Learn pages we read in October 2026.

Should I take AZ-104 or AZ-204?

AZ-104, if you want to run Azure, Microsoft's cloud platform, because Microsoft has retired AZ-204 and it can no longer be taken. AZ-104 is the exam for Microsoft Certified: Azure Administrator Associate, for people who set up, manage and monitor an organization's Azure systems. If you write software, look at Azure AI Cloud Developer Associate (exam AI-200), Microsoft's current developer-role Azure certification. It is narrower, focused on AI and back-end services, and we found no like-for-like general Azure developer exam. Its page does not mention AZ-204, and the retirement pages we read name no replacement.

What happens to my AZ-204 certification now that it is retired?

Microsoft retired Azure Developer Associate (exam AZ-204) on July 31, 2026. If you earned or renewed it before then, Microsoft says it stays in the Active Certifications section of your transcript (your record of Microsoft credentials) until it expires. Then it moves to Historical (the list of credentials that are no longer current). The AZ-204 renewal assessment, the free online test that normally extends a certification by a year, is retired too. The pages we read say nothing more about how existing holders are treated.

How much does AZ-104 cost?

Microsoft's certification FAQ says Associate exams such as AZ-104 typically cost US$165, priced by country or region; taxes may apply and the price can change. The AZ-104 page itself shows no figure. Renewal is free: each year you pass a short online assessment on Microsoft Learn. Over three years that comes to $165 for the exam plus two renewals at $0, so $165 in total, if you pass the exam on the first try. Microsoft does not refund failed exams, so a second attempt brings the total to $330. The price varies by country; check Microsoft's AZ-104 page for yours.

How long does it take to study for AZ-104?

People who posted about their AZ-104 preparation on Reddit report a median (middle value) of 5.5 weeks of study, across 21 statements in the posts and comments we collected in 2026. Those who gave their time in months report a median of two months, with the middle half between one and three months (13 statements). The two figures come from different posters, some of whom gave weeks and others months. All are self-reported by people who chose to post, so they do not show your own starting point.